Fellowship the Winner in Adelaide
Date of Event VCA Umpires and Scorers Association: Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:55PM

The Victorians may have won all the silverware in Adelaide at Easter but the real winner was cricket fellowship between the two state umpiring and scoring associations.

The Bob Crockett Shield has been retained and Keith Butler Trophy won back in a fantastic Easter event hosted by SACUSA.  We even won the Skull Award! 

In the Shield Match Captain Alan McCarthy won the toss and batted at Henley oval on a grassy pitch which was tacky underneath.  Runs on the board and a strong bowling attack would be a winning formula.  Ash Barrow and Michial Farrow umpired and Trevor Finlayson and Neil Ricketts scored.  VCAUSA was in trouble at 3/23 with Sahan Weerasekera, Greg Azzopardi and Alan all gone.  The Duke ball swung and seamed but as bowlers rotated Steve Brne and Daryl Brigham got on top.  84 was added until Steve was caught for 50.  Daryl and Vice-Captain John Richards put on 57 before Daryl was stumped for 74 off SACUSA captain Michael Williamson.  John and Steve Pitts pushed for runs until Steve was caught at short cover by Williamson off Craig Thomas.  John and Jamie Wyatt pushed the score to 199 with clever running.  John fell off the last ball for 33 and Jamie finished 12 NO.  The size of the ground and the slow outfield restricted the VCAUSA to only 8 boundaries in a score of 7/199 (40 overs).

After a great lunch, VCAUSA’s attack used line and length to strangle SACUSA.  Wickets fell regularly with debutants Mattis Van Eck, Michael Nolan and Andrew Hind well supported by Steve Brne, Daryl, Sahan, Greg and Luke Edwards.  The fielding was outstanding with Steve Pitts, Dan Bomford, Rod McKinnon and Vic debutant Paul Welbourn all pressuring SACUSA who failed to score a boundary in the innings.  2 Run outs and great catches by John and Dan epitomised VCAUSA’s effort – never mind the suicidal dives by Alan and Jamie with 3 balls to go resulting in a head crunching collision.  SACUSA finished on 9/100 with the Crockett Shield returning to Cricket Willow.

On Easter Sunday following a tour of the Adelaide Oval all Victorian supporters put in a sterling effort to win back the Butler Trophy.     Using guile, intellect and good luck at Zombie Dice, Wits and Wagers, Codewords and Telestrations, the VCAUSA  continued the winning run.  A great lunch overlooking the River Torrens and the farewell breakfast on Easter Monday finished off a fantastic weekend organised by SACUSA President Tony Trist and his hardworking committee.

At the Easter Saturday Dinner the following awards were presented –

Ian McGregor Medal – Player of the Match – Daryl Brigham

Cronin Medals – Umpires Michial Farrow and Ash Barrow

Howard Medals – Scorers Neil Ricketts and Trevor Finlayson

Graeme Bugge Batting Trophy – Daryl Brigham (74 runs)

Ian Stuart Bowling Trophy – Steve Brne (7 overs, 2 maidens, 2/8)

Ray Isherwood Fielding Trophy – Jamie Wyatt

SACUSA’s awards went to –

Gladstone Jones Batting Trophy – Adrian Drosd (27 runs)

Peter Weddell Bowling Trophy – Jarred Wilton (4 overs, 2/7)

George McDonagh Fielding Trophy – Michael Williamson

And The Skull Award – Rod McKinnon (VCAUSA)     


Below is a link to some of the many photos taken during the event. Thanks are extended to Damian Herft and Lynton Donisthorpe for capturing so many interesting moments over Easter.

Click Here To View Photos

Last updated: Sunday April 30, 2017 8:55PM