End of Season Awards

At the end of each season, awards are presented by the VCAUSA to the best performing umpires in Victorian Cricket and also in respect of the Scorer of the Year and exceptional service to the Association. A brief background to each award is detailed below with past winners recorded in the Annual Report. 


The Andy Barlow 4th XI Umpiring Award

Andy Barlow was a veteran of World War One, a Victorian umpire who stood in 11 Test matches between 1931 and 1951 and he umpired such greats as Bradman, Ponsford, Grimmett, Lindwall and Miller. He was regarded as a strong and fearless umpire.


The Ron Wright 3rd XI Umpiring Award

Ron Wright was a Victorian umpire who stood in 13 Tests between 1947 and 1959. He was described by his good friend, Bill Smyth as the best umpire he had ever stood with.


The Dave Elder 2nd XI Umpiring Award

Dave Elder was a Victorian umpire who stood in 12 Tests between 1911 and 1928 all between Australia and England. He umpired such champion cricketers as Trumper, Hobbs, Bradman and Ponsford. He is remembered as one of Australia’s greatest umpires.


The Jim Phillips 1st XI Umpiring Award

Jim Phillips is regarded as the first genuine “international” umpire having stood in 29 Tests in Australia, England and South Africa. A fierce enforcer of the laws, he was the first umpire to no ball a player in a test match for throwing.


The Ray Isherwood Perpetual Trophy

This award commenced in 2018-19 to recognise the best performing representative umpire in Victorian Cricket. The award is named in honour of former Australian Test Cricket umpire, Ray Isherwood who umpired continuously in Victoria from 1962 to 1987.


The Cameron Medal for Scorer of the Year

This award is named after Jack Cameron senior and junior. Between them, the Camerons had an unbroken association with North Melbourne Cricket Club and Victorian Cricket from 1939 to 2003, with some 800 District and over 600 State and International matches between them.


The Robin Bailhache Commitment Award

Robin Bailhache umpired in 27 Test matches, 93 First Class matches and 26 Limited Overs Internationals and was regarded as one of the world’s most respected umpires during his international career in the 1970’s and 1980’s. This award is made to a member who has made a significant contribution to the Association off the field and who has performed very well on the field or in the scorer’s box.